URGENT ANNOUNCEMENT: House Bill Introduced to REMOVE UTAH’s DIXIE

As expected, a member of the House of Representatives in Utah has filed a Bill (HB 278) to remove the Dixie name. With the filing of the bill, there will soon be a hearing before the House Education Committee. See the list below.

 

There are two representatives from Dixie on the Committee, Lowry Snow and Brad Last. We do not know for sure where they stand on the removal of Dixie from the University’s name. Likewise, we are unsure as to the others of the committee as well.

 

We request that you send messages to all members of the committee urging them to oppose the Bill. If you know any of the members personally or know people that do, please have them personalize the message.

 

You may also want to focus on Representatives Snow and Last to declare exactly where they stand.

 

You can read the Bill at https://le.utah.gov/~2021/bills/hbillint/HB0278.pdf

 

The committee meeting is very important. But even if the Bill gets passed at the committee, it does not mean that the Bill has been approved. It must still go to a vote of the House of Representatives and then to the Senate. There are many points along the way where it can be stopped.

 

THIS IS THE TIME however, to really make the effort and also let our local representatives know that they need advocate and fight to fight very hard for Dixie.

 

We think that if our local representatives stand strong, the rest of the House will follow. We will have three persons ready to testify at the hearing, which could happen very soon.

 

Rep. V. Lowry Snow (R), Chair

Rep. Susan Pulsipher (R), Vice Chair

Rep. Melissa G. Ballard (R)

Rep. Kera Birkeland (R)

Rep. Craig Hall (R)

Rep. Dan N. Johnson (R)

Rep. Karen Kwan (D)

Rep. Bradley G. Last (R)

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss (D)

Rep. Jefferson Moss (R)

Rep. Val L. Peterson (R)

Rep. Adam Robertson (R)

Rep. Steve Waldrip (R)

Rep. Christine F. Watkins (R)

Rep. Elizabeth Weight (D)

 

House Committee email list:

 

vlsnow@le.utah.gov

blast@le.utah.gov

susanpulsipher@le.utah.gov

mballard@le.utah.gov

kbirkeland@le.utah.gov

chall@le.utah.gov

dnjohnson@le.utah.gov

kkwan@le.utah.gov

csmoss@le.utah.gov

jeffersonmoss@le.utah.gov

adamrobertson@le.utah.gov

vpeterson@le.utah.gov

swaldrip@le.utah.gov

christinewatkins@le.utah.gov

elizabethweight@le.utah.gov

 

In your email please ask them to SUPPORT THE PEOPLE IN UTAH'S DIXIE AND VOTE AGAINST THE NAME CHANGE AT DIXIE STATE UNIVERSITY.

 

PLEASE SHARE with all of your contact lists, email and social media and ask your friends and family to send a quick email to those listed above.

 

Copy/paste the email list

Write a short email

Send!

 

This is very important, we need everyone’s help and support NOW!!

 

How can you help SAVE DIXIE?

1.  We now focus on getting everyone to contact the EVERY legislator in the State of Utah, ask them to VOTE AGAINST a name change for DSU.  

Since every legislator will vote, we must include all members of the legislature, not just our local representatives.

a.   We also ask that you contact all of your friends, family & neighbors and ask them to contact their own local legislators THROUGHOUT THE STATE to ask them to vote against a name change at Dixie State if the bill goes before the next legislative session in January 2021.

Get ALL REPRESENTATIVES emails HERE.

PLEASE SHARE this with everyone you can. We you can also share this via a link on our website on your social media channels!

Click to share this article below:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

WANT TO join US?

JOIN NOW!

We support freedom of expression, including by those with whom we do not agree, and commit to always protect their right to freedom of expression.